Michael Tsapatsis elected to National Academy of Engineering, a prinicpal investigator in the IPrime Coating Process Fundamentals (CPF) & Nanostructural Materials and Processes (NMP) programs

Professor Michael Tsapatsis has been elected to the National Academy of Engineering (NAE). Election to the National Academy of Engineering is among the highest professional distinctions awarded to an engineer. Only 67 new members nationwide and 12 foreign associations received the honor this year. Tspatsis is one of IPrime’s mentors in the Crating Process Fundamentals (CPF) research program.

Tsapatsis received the honor for design and synthesis of specialized nanomaterials, called zeolites, that are used for selective separation and reaction. His research group’s accomplishments include development of unique molecular sieves and membranes that are used to increase efficiencies in the chemical and petroleum processing industries.

Tsapatsis has been professor at the University of Minnesota since 2003, and he currently holds the Amundson Chair in Chemical Engineering and Materials Science. He has published more than 200 papers and has been invited to present more than 120 lectures around the world. He is the inventor/co-inventor of six issued patents and six patent applications. Tsapatsis has received numerous awards, including the Alpha Chi Sigma Award for Chemical Engineering Research, a Packard Foundation Fellowship, and National Science Foundation CAREER Award. He is a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Read More